“I have a dream..”

“Jesus loves the little children, all the children of the world. Red & yellow, black & white they are precious in His site..Jesus loves the children of the world.”
image

That song holds so much meaning to me as I look at the picture of the 3 beautiful biracial children that call me “aunt”. They hold so much space in my heart & I have so much love for them I don’t understand how I can physically contain it. They are beautifully crafted by the Creator and He makes no mistakes so why do people have an issue with their skin color?

There are people getting away with murder, rape, theft & many more crimes & people wanting pass laws that allow a man or woman (who could possibly be perverts) who “feels like a woman” or “feels like a man” use the women’s restroom with little girls & boys but we’ve got people worried about the color of someone’s skin?! Really world?!

In 1963, more than 200,000 Americans gathered in Washington, D.C., for a political rally known as the “March on Washington” for Jobs and Freedom. The event was designed to shed light on the political and social challenges African Americans continued to face across the country. The march, which became a key moment in the growing struggle for civil rights in the United States, culminated in Martin Luther King Jr.’s “I Have a Dream” speech, a spirited call for racial justice and equality. OVER 50 YEARS LATER & WE ARE STILL FIGHTING THIS SAME FIGHT!! We’ve got a black president (nevermind the fact that I’m not a fan of him), we’re putting black people in government offices, we’re putting black historical icons on currency…they’ve got rights just like white people but my 12 year old nephew can’t walk down the halls of school without being bullied by a white kid because he’s black?! WHY ARE PARENTS TEACHING KIDS THIS TYPE OF HATRED IS OK!? I never like to pull the race card, ever! I don’t like to hear white people say that “if they were black they could do this” or “if they were Mexican they could do this” or black people say “if I was white I could do this”..I loathe it. But at this point, after something like this happening again & the higher above person in charge not doing their job to defend my nephew I can’t help but wonder, if the script were flipped, if my nephew was bullying the white boy for being white (which it happens, I’ve seen other kids do it) would they react as they do now? Or would their actions be different? I can’t help but question that.

My nephew was given out of school suspension for shoving a white kid who called him the “N word” (not the 1st time he had called him that, Darien had finally decided he’d had enough). I’ll say that again, my nephew was given out of school suspension for defedning himself against a bully who was bullying him because he’s black. The bullies punishment? Yet to be determined because the principal has to “investigate”, but there was no lengthy investigation into my nephew’s punishment for defending himself because he made it physical. I’m sorry but whoever came up with the phrase “sticks & stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me” was a FOOL! WORDS DO HURT! & after a while you either shut the person up or kids are going home & killing themselves so they don’t have to hear it anymore! That is where the school system has failed! The school system fails bullied kids daily! And they have failed my nephew! You know who won’t fail him? His mom. Me. His grandparents. His family. He has a right to an education without being bullied just like anyone else & we will fight for that right. This is only the beginning.

image

One thought on ““I have a dream..”

Leave a comment